The first strum

The first strum

Ever since I was young I have always wanted to learn to play guitar. My first year going to Kansas City, Missouri was the most eventful week of my life. It was the summer of 2012 and we were sitting in a Hope Faith Ministries, the roof was high above our heads. We were all setting up our cots and having our rest after a long day of traveling. I hardly knew anyone I was with, I took this leap of faith with my youth pastor and my best friend. There were two guys by the name of Alex and Jordan. They were sitting on the edge of the stage playing to some music in the background. My friend Lindsay and I went over to talk to them about playing. We sat down near them and they showed us some of the basic chords. At this time I was excited to learn, but when you first start doing something, practice makes somewhat perfect. You have to keep doing the same thing over and over again. It gets boring after doing it for so long, but every night during that week me and Lindsay would sit down and play the guitar together. It was fun to be in sync and actually feeling the vibrations of the string on your finger of the fret. Hearing the sound of the strum echoing through its body was electrifying. When I had gotten home after that long week of serving others and learning new thing about myself, I set myself a goal, to get my very own guitar. To this day I have had the same acoustic guitar my aunt gave me, along with two electric guitars I picked up on the way. My dream guitar is the Gibson Dove, it has a remarkable body and a beautiful design on the scratch pad. I cant wait to further my knowledge in music and playing more instruments along the way.

One thought on “The first strum

Leave a Reply

